Short story contest

People’s Choice Voting is Closed.

Winners Get Published on Kindle and Amazon and Win Cash Prizes.

Cash prizes will be offered to the winners as follows:

1st Prize: $1,000
People’s Choice Prize: $500
Remaining finalists: $50 each
Honorable mentions: $25 each

Here is the 1st Prize winner:

Fields Where the Glory Does Not Stay by Lones Seiber of Morristown, TN.

Here is the People’s Choice winner:

Historical Insignificance by Garret Clancy of Studio City, CA
view results

Remaining finalists:

Arti by Neil McCabe of Chico, CA
Squid Jiggers by Judi Blaze of Vashon Island, WA
Madame du Jour (Lady of the Day) by Solange Anduze James of Boulder, CO

Here are the Honorable Mention winners:

The Cat by Michael Rhodes of Austin, TX
Car Accident by Jamie-Kate Heminway of Plaistow, NH
Bad Dog by Sarah Liley Cheever Tomkins of Chevy Chase, MD
A Slow Boat to Cork by Larkin Maguire of New York, NY
Black Eyed Susans by Morgan G. Howell of Georgetown, SC
Delicious Dates by Carol Robinson of New York, NY
The Last Visit by Katherine Mayfield of Cape Neddick, ME
Of Time by Rebecca F. John of Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales (UK)
The Flying Fuquas by Jerrel Swingle of O’Fallon, MO
All the Good Girls by Jennifer R. Adams of Birchrunville, PA

The Warren Adler Short Story Contest is the most prestigious international short story contest online thanks to the extraordinary literary quality of our submissions. The theme is short fiction in all of its varied genres. We are looking for original, imaginative pieces featuring compelling characters and creative plots. Your story entry can be mainstream fiction, romance, horror, fantasy, science-fiction, satire, mystery, or any of their subcategories.

The top 15 winners will be published on Kindle and Amazon exclusively in what we hope will be an annual Short Story Anthology. Our first short story anthology is now available on

Entries must not exceed 2,500 words. We will only accept stories submitted using our web form, no exceptions.

Stories from all the points of the globe will be considered provided that they are written in English. The Grand Prize will be $1,000.

The People’s Choice winners will be determined by public voting. Cash prizes and publication will be awarded for those stories chosen as “Honorable Mention.”

Authors retain worldwide publishing rights.

Contest is open for worldwide entries from October 15, 2010 until January 15, 2011. Winner is announced on February 15 and People’s Choice voting ends on March 15.

A $15 fee in advance is required for each story submission.

When you are ready to submit your story, make your payment to proceed to the story submission form. Each story must be written in English, previously unpublished and no longer than 2,500 words.

See winners from our previous contests:

5th Annual Short Story Contest (2010)
Previous short story contests have been archived. You can now purchase an anthology of past winning stories.